May Day

As a little girl I took such delight in May Day …my brother and I would go out in the woods behind our house, with our three little friends that lived next door and hunt down every pretty wild flower we could find,  then go and raid our mothers flower beds, and with our pockets full of posies, we’d run, in our bare feet, door to door…placing our spring bouquets of cherry blossoms, red tulips. white lilacs, wild violets and purple lupine, on the doorsteps of our neighbors…We’d knock and then quickly run and hide behind the nearest tree or bush…and wait in anticipation as they’d open the door and look around until they noticed the  freshly picked bundles we left for them! I still remember the whispered laughter and the lilac scented breeze…we thought we were so sneaky…like the fairies that we read about in books, full of all kinds of lovely mischief…
 
 
 
___________________________________________________________________
 
 Just as I finished posting this the other day, I heard a knock at my back door…I went to answer it but there was no one there…only a pile of red gerber daisies, tied together with a ribbon at my feet…
I found my husband hiding behind his red Toyota pickup. It was easy, he was talking on his cell phone and grinning as I came around to find him crouched down behind a tire…
 
Now show me a man that rememebers such little insignifigant holidays like May Day, and I’ll show you the most incredible, thoughtful man in the whole entire world!
 
____________________________________________________________________
A delicate fabric of bird song
 Floats in the air,
The smell of wet wild earth
 Is everywhere.

Red small leaves of the maple
 Are clenched like a hand,
Like girls at their first communion
 The pear trees stand.

Oh I must pass nothing by
 Without loving it much,
The raindrop try with my lips,
 The grass with my touch;

For how can I be sure
 I shall see again
The world on the first of May
 Shining after the rain?
 
-Sarah Teadsdale

 

                                      

One Comment to “May Day”

  1. Hello…
     
    And what did Miss Annabelle think of May Day?  I forgot all about May Day this year.  *sigh*  life should never get so busy that we forget days that celebrate beauty and new growth…
     
    A bouquet of Gerbera Daisies…well, there is no question why you married him.  The only question is…did you have to fight off the hoardes to get to him?!
     
    I just read your previous post as well.  I have never thought of our reactions to such magazines in such a light.  Hmmmm…maybe the very ancient parts of our mind and soul are still trying to get back to paradise.  Strange that people like Martha Stewart are peddling paradise.  We will never get back to paradise as long as we think it is something we can order out of a magazine.
     
    With that said, beauty feeds the soul.  Trite, but true.  In all it\’s forms…a smile, a tulip, a kindness…it is what brings us closer to paradise.
     
    Thanks for the wonderful thoughts that are winding through my mind.  I just noticed that my mother in law is trying to IM me.  Hmmm, maybe to keep thoughts of beauty and kindness and paradise in my mind, I will just shut off the computer and pretend I saw nothing.  Don\’t you say anything to her Annabelle!!
     
    Alison

Leave a Reply

