Storytime…

The tip of the week on Americanbaby.com for 8 weeks says this: " Read To Me. Sure, it will be a while before she can follow a story. But read to baby anyway, either baby books or even from your own books or magazines. She’ll love to listen to your voice and it will create a reading ritual."  Since then we have been making a weekly trip to the library. Annabelle loves to look and smile at the brightly colored pictures, and it’s all sorts of fun for me since I love children’s books and would like to write them myself someday!
 
These are the book we currently have checked out from the library :
 
The Toot & Puddle books:
Charming Opal
Puddle’s ABC
You are my Sunshine
all by Holly Hobbie
 
Guess How Much I Love You
 by Sam McBratney
 
Hilda Must Be Dancing
Bear Snores on,
Bear Wants More
A Frog in the Bog
all by Karma Wilson (who lives in ID. and is good friends with David’s folks.)
 
Mommies Say Shhh!
by Patracia Poloacco
 
Little Pea
by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
 
Please share any recommendations or favorites you have! Annabelle and I promise to hunt them down on our next trip to the library and then let you know what we thought of them…  
3 Comments to “Storytime…”

  1. Hello Chelle.
    Thank you so much for visiting my space!  It is really fun when you spot someone new visiting.  I am glad you enjoyed it.  Thank you for the compliments.
    About getting a video on here, click on music list, then look over to the right hand column (where all the info is posted by msn) and it should say something about adding music and video to your space.  You should also have an account with filelodge or some other file hosting site.  I chose filelodge.com because that is what I saw most other people have and it is easy to use!  Best of luck.  Let me know if you have other questions.
     
    I love your photos.  Your daughter is beautiful!  I am seeing so many beautiful babies, it is really making me want another one bad!
     
    I\’ll be back!!!!
     
    Have a great day,
    Sendy

  2. Hi Chelle,
    This is a really good idea. Wish I had thought of it! 🙂
    Here are some of Olivia\’s favorites from when she was really little and are still favorites now.
    Everywhere Babies by Susan Meyers
    Time For Bed by Mem Fox
    Brown Rabbit\’s Day and any other books by Alan Baker
    Tom and Pippo and the Bicycle and any other books by Helen Oxenbury
    Big Red Barn by Margaret Wise Brown
    Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What do you see? by Bill Martin Jr.
    Owl Babies and any books by Martin Waddell
    Jane Dyer is one of my favorite illustrators.
    A really great resource for excellent children\’s book (and adult\’s books too) is Chinaberry catalog. You can request one at  http://www.chinaberry.com  They have neat gifts and home items as well as some really good tips on reading to very young children. Hope you can find some of these at your library! Olivia has most of these books memorized  and they are often our bedtime stories. Hope you  and Annabelle enjoy them as much as we have. 🙂
    Have a blessed day~
    Fairlight

  3. I read to my belly now that she can hear me, sometimes she kicks when we hear certain songs, the funniest is when we here "Funkytown" she seems to go crazy! About your windows media player, I couldn\’t get mine going either, my hubby actually put it up for me because I got so fustrated with it, and the song we just stubbled across it and I fell in love with it! I would try and help you but I am just as lost with the media player! Have a wonderful night!

Leave a Reply

