it was the simplest of days, and the sweetest of days…

 
Hum dum dum ditty dum
Hum dum dum

Oh the wind is lashing lustily
And the trees are thrashing thrustily
And the leaves are rustling gustily
So it’s rather safe to say
That it seems that it may turn out to be
It feels that it will undoubtedly
It looks like a rather blustery day, today
It sounds that it may turn out to be
Feels that it will undoubtedly
Looks like a rather blustery day today

 
In the words of Pooh Bear, " it is a rather blustery Thursday today."
And we are all cozied up in the window seat, our favorite place to be on just these sort of days, sipping a cup of Good Earth tea, the tea of preference in this household.
It’s spicy, bold and naturally sweet with just the right amount of zip!
Annabelle is curled up next to George, the family cat, both of them are fast asleep.
 
We are having a napping, playing and reading books/magazines sort of a day,
in no particular order.
Yesterday at the library I discovered a pile of wonderful magazines:

 Country Living, Mary Englebreits Home Companion, and Real Simple on the " for sale" shelf. I was ready to pay generously for them when the nice librarian lady said,
" Oh they are free, just take them!"
 " They are? That’s wonderful. Oh my, THANK YOU!
 And I walked out of there with such a big smile on my face that the lady coming in looked at me funny. Serious.
 
To top off my today, we had our usual morning stroll through the garden only to discover that it is just brimming with the hydrangeas, in the most splendid and glorious shades you can imagine, from amethyst to sapphire. They started blooming right under our very noses and I just realized today that they in fact at this moment, are in full-swing… I am picking them and bringing them inside to fill all my vases,
 so there will be flowers in every room of the house.
 My Mom often teases me by suggesting that I leave a couple stems unpicked,
 so I have something pretty to look out the windows at.
I try, but it’s so hard. I must have been a florist in a previous life.
 
Someone is peeking her darling little head quietly up at me…’ Somewhere Over the Rainbow’ is playing on the radio and I think it’s time for another episode of playtime. 
 
 
 
 
15 Comments to “it was the simplest of days, and the sweetest of days…”

  1. What a beautiful day! Sounds so relaxing!

  2. You and Anabelle are so darling. I love how you find joy in all the simple joys. Isn\’t the Lord so awesome to give us those sweet treats!!! 🙂
    As I already commented before, love that photo of her sleeping its simply precious.
    Your day sounds completley devine.
    Wish I was your neighbor!!!
     
    http://www.leslieautumn.blogspot.com

  3. It sounds like you had a lovely, lovely day!!  I hope your Friday is wonderful too!

  4. Sounds like a great day!  I found a whole pile – 1yr subscription\’s worth – of Martha Stewart Living magazines at a garage sale last weekend.  I paid $1 for them…I know, they were FREE like yours LOL but I was so excited! 
     
    Enjoy your day!
    God bless : )

  5. Anabelle is so precious. ( What an absolutely beautiful name. ) She looks alot like her Daddy.
    Lovely lovely easy day. Hope you continue to enjoy. Have a great weekend.
     

  6. Oh!
    I forgot to say thanks 🙂 As I beam – for thinking of me as a friend 🙂
    Cheers

  7. Hello Chelle!
    Thank you so much for visitung my Web Page! Your little Anabelle is just so gorgeous! My Gwendolyn is almost the same age…such a precious age isnt it!? Cherish every single second because they grow up entirely way too quickly! You have a beautiful Web Page Chelle and I have really enjoyed your poetic words..I can really feel your days are filled with God\’s love!!
    God bless you and your gorgeous babe!
    Melinda

  8. What a lovely day!
    How relaxing, just to even read about it.

  9. What a beautiful day!  I felt my stress melting away just reading and looking at your photos.  And your Anabelle is gorgeous.   
     
    Thank you for your kind comments on my site.
     
    BTW, I too am a quotaholic.  I have them EVERYWHERE.

  10. I want to curl up on your window seat!  Did you detect the bit of whine in there?  Ok…I am craving the peace of a window seat that boasts a garden view and a sleeping baby that has not yet learned to screech and flush an entire box of wipes down a toilet…
     
    *sigh*
     
    Alison

  11. as usual, a lovely entry.

  12. I love Home Companion, Good Earth and polka dots too!  You have perfect taste!  I loved the pictures!  Reminds me of how desperately I need to update mine, bear with me!
    I hope you and yours are well!
    Sarah  🙂

  13. You have a very beautiful and poetic nature. I love your site and the photos of your darling little Annabelle. I clicked over from Aunt Tea\’s space with her gentle nudging and I\’m glad I did.

  14. I found myself singing the pooh song as I was reading:)  What a wonderful childhood memory!  Wishing you more days such as this one.

  15. Thanks for leaving a message on my blog. I do suspect we may be kindred spirits like you said. However, I am a country/land lover living in the city (the largest one in my state at that!).
     I do pray for this family you mentioned! I have a 13mth old and a little one on the way and I cannot fathom what some parents must go through…But our God is a good God and always carries us, whether through blessings or hardships.
     Come visit again, I\’ll certainly be back to say hi from time to time.
    Melody

Leave a Reply

