imaginary neighbors

I started blogging on a whim. One night I had a lot of time to kill and nothing to kill it with. David was working nights at the time. So, because I could, I joined the ranks of the nocturnal. One night I was surfing the internet during the wee morning hours, sort of like I am now. Somehow I ended up in MSN Spaces. I read a featured blog or two, the ones that caught my eye, then trotted off to start my own. Why? Because honestly, I was bored. Not inspired, bored. I had no idea that I was about to meet some of the dearest most amazing people in the history of my life. And I love how neither distance or location has hindered that. It’s like the most perfect neighborhood, the kind you imagine you live in.

 

 

The Best of MSN Spaces is just grand, perhaps the only thing better than being featured is doing the featuring. Hmmm. Now that’s an idea.

  

Fair warning here, I am about to start throwing adjectives at you.

And lots of them. Try: insightful, creative, convincing, gracious, deep, inspiring, honest, tender, caring, WISE, humorous, original, thoughtful, realENCOURAGING, brilliant, FUN, challenging, loving, amazing, inventive, gentle, strong, sweet.

You may not ever see the women I have just described on the cover of PEOPLE magazine, but let me tell you,

I know where you can find real celebrities.

These women are many things, not the least of which is extraordinary.

In the middle of laundry and dirty dishes/diapers, that never-ending to-do list, church activities, errand running, snack making, loving, cleaning the house, rocking babies, listening, working, cooking, more snack making, doing favors for, teaching, and tired, with no make-up on, still in their sweats at noon, hair up in a pony tail.

They love their life. As everyday as it may be. As busy as it may be.

These women nearly swoon at the sight of the small bouquet of flowers sitting on thier kitchen table.

Or a glittering sunset that they know was a gift, " painted " especially for them. A love note left on the bathroom mirror. 

Bedtime stories, kisses and prayers.

They often find their greatest pleasure in the smallest,

and simplest of things.

These women are the truest definition of beauty:

 
 

 
 
19 Comments to “imaginary neighbors”

  1. I woke up pretty early this morning and decided to surf the blogs, when I read this entry it just made me feel wonderful. You really are a sweet person, you have touched the hearts of so many people.

  2. Well said and beautifully put.  You really do find some amazing friends here.  Friends who are an encouragement when you need it, a shoulder to cry on, and are such kind and wonderful people that you forget you have never met them in person.  But that doesn\’t matter because even if you\’ve never actually seen their face, you know the important part of them and that is their soul.

  3. Thank You.
     
    Alison

  4. Thank you so much for that beautiful entry. I believe you have totally made my day/week. Those great adjectives you have used to describe us, are many of the same adjectives we would use to describe you.
    To be honest, I don\’t know what I would do without all of my wondeful blogging community. My family is 300 miles away and busy, my husband works, and my friends don\’t understand what it\’s like to be a parent. I look forward to getting up each morning and reading everyone\’s blogs and the comments left on my blog. I love to read when their loved ones do something new; and I love to be part of their support group when things aren\’t going according to plan.
     
    Thank you so much for saying what I have been thinking, but unable to express. 🙂 You deserve to be a featured space this week. you have so much going for you! Keep it up!
     
    ~Crystal

  5. I am so very honoured that you would include me in your list. I\’ll have you know that when I think of you all of those adjectives spill out too.
    🙂
     
    Hope you are having a great day.
     
    Oh and by the way there were no rainbows to be found yesterday, but the day ended cool, clean and bright.

  6. This was a blessing and encouragement. life has been a bit of a struggle these days. a tear and a thank you.
    Bless you dear one. i come to this space just to feel refreshed by your heartfelt, God-given beautiful perspective.

  7. Huge huge blessing you are lady.
    This brightened my day so much you have no idea.
     
    I too have seen such sweet kind people in this land of blogs… and its trully nothing short of friendship.
    http://www.leslieautumn.blogspot.com
     

  8. You have such a way of making people feel extra special…It\’s nothing short of a miracle to have come across all these wonderful people via spaces, however, I find it a true blessing to know you and have \’met\’ you. Such a lovely soul you are, and your writing without a doubt can change a person\’s life. How sweet up there, that imaginary neighborhood sounds…I feel it too, each time I get on here.
    Thanks for making me feel special as you, I am sure are special to me as well as all of those other wonderful women!!!
    Hugs to you today and God Bless you
    Jacy

  9. Darling Chelle,
    I think you have forgotten to add yourself to your amazing list. What would I do without you? You are everything that you described above and more. I\’m blessed to call you my friend.
    Love and hugs,
    Fairlight 

  10. you have such a gift with words…though you didn\’t set out with inspiration in mind, your site has inspired me.  i also treasure this "imaginary" neighborhood of blogland, and i feel as if i really do know my blog-friends in real-life…i believe that words are a window to the soul, that you can often tell the truest and deepest things about a person by the words they put on a page!  keep on writing.
     
    Oh, and i checked out another George MacDonald book at the library…I am hoping to read it in the car while we travel to Illinois this weekend…it is "Malcolm"–I think it said there were actually two novels in it…"The Fisherman\’s Lady" and something else!

  11. p.s. i love the chris rice song playing on your site…i think I am going to go downstairs and search for my chris rice cd to play! 

  12. Belated congrats on your feature.  We share a common friend. 
     
    Love how you mix up the fonts.  Makes it look like there are way more font choices than we have to choose from.
     
    You are definitely living in the baby bubble years although the precious moments really do just get better and better.
     
    Cheers ~

  13. This site is very cool. I could see why you were nominated – great job! This entry is very lovely as well………I too have found a wondeful community of friends via MSN spaces.  It\’s great, isn\’t it?

  14. Thank you, sweet friend. I love how you described this. You are the lovliest of writers and artists.

  15. Oh what an enviting and beautiful site you have.  It\’s so comforting here!  I love the song you have playing as you read and look around.  It brought tears to my eyes. I look forward to visiting often and reading about your family.  It brings back sweet memories.  My babies are leaiving the nest and I miss the baby days.  You have a wonderful way with words.  Aren\’t we all so blessed that you were bored  in the wee morning hours?!

  16. Hello,
    I saw your space on the "featured list" & decided to stop by. You have a nice space.
     
    I hope that you have a nice day.
    Come to my space sometime to leave a comment.
     
    Take care. Ttyl

  17. LOL, I am glad that you like the "girliness" of my space. I hope that you have a good day too.
     
    I like the song on here. "Untitled Hymn- Chris Rice" as seen in your media player. Very lovely.
     
    Take care,

  18. Noah and Annabelle would be so cute together 🙂 Such an adorable thought and so very sweet of you to say such words. It truely made my heart smile 🙂
    Do you live in Washingtong? I have family there! You never know, and if I might say myself, I wouldn\’t mind a bit either, for I know Annabelle will grow up to be just as lovely as her mommy and daddy 🙂
    As a new parent, I want more than anything to teach him all about Jesus and to love him and God, it\’s been wonderful so far!
    Lots of Loves to you,
    Jacy

  19. Oh, wow.  You brought tears to my eyes!  Thank you so much for your sweet commpliments!  I, too, share this wonderrful feeling of a great neighborhood.  We are the homemakers here on Spaces.  You could say MSN Housewives, but we are not so despirate!  This is a great community and you pointed out all the great aspects of it.
    Thank you so much.
    You are wonderful and you are so loved!

Leave a Reply

