Thoughts from the Kitchen Sink…

 

The best time for planning a book is while you’re doing the dishes. 
~Agatha Christie

I was standing at my kitchen sink, up to my elbows in suds and a stack of dirty plates, remembering all the happiness the weekend has brought our little family.

W

e laughed a lot this weekend. Ate some really good food. David and I got to go on a date Friday night and sleep in on Sat. morning…All compliments of my Mom and Dad, who were here this weekend. We love our weekends with them.

T

hey played with Annabelle, took her on walks, bought her clothes, snuggled and kissed her, exclaimed over her, laughed with her, and at her. They loved and loved on her. And Annabelle, well, mostly she just beamed. She took everything in and beamed. And there are few things in the world that are sweeter to me than getting to watch my parents with my baby. They are head over heels. I love that. We miss you already Grammie and Dido, and you haven’t even been gone a half hour yet.

Here are a f

ew other highlights from the weekend, many of them were surprises:

  • David came home on Friday afternoon and surprised me with a bag of pistachios. Because of a awesome sale at Safeway, we have newly discovered these delicious snacking nuts. Later I was so guilty I had to confess to somebody so I quietly told him that I may even like pistachios more than I like chocolate. For those of you who just cannot relate to this, I will leave you with my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe. What about you? Is there anything you like better than chocolate?
  • a surprise "pillow attack" on David that ended up in a knock-down, blow-out fight of nearly epic proportions. I ( pause to gloat for me , here) won!  He was laughing so hard his reflexes just couldn’t keep up…
  • a HUGE surprise, more along the lines of a SHOCK, came in the mail for us on Sat. Unfortunately at this time, it has to remain a unspoken surprise. Lets just say it was a gigantic, baffling answer to prayer.            
  • After everyone went to sleep Sat. night, David and I had our very own "slumber party. I told him it was just like the ones I used to have with my girlfriends…We pulled the sheets over our heads and talked about absolutely nothing, far into the wee hours of the morning, our converstation peppered with generous amounts of whispered-laughter.    
  • There is the most remarkable, pinkest zinnia blooming out in the yard right now. There are more pictures of it towards the end of the latest photo album. Zinnia’s make me happy!  
  • I got the most fantastic case of goose bumps in church yesterday, really, from head to toe. We were singing ‘ How Great Thou Art. ‘ 1000 of us. Does this ever happen to you?

Now as promised, the recipe for  Soft and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies:

 

2 1/4 cups of all purpose flour

   1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup ( 2 sticks) butter at room temperature

    1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 cup packed light-brown sugar

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 large eggs

2 cups semisweet chocolate chips ( about 12 ounces)

 

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, and baking soda; set aside. With and electric mixer, combine the butter with both sugars; beat on medium speed until light and fluffy. Reduce to low speed and all the salt, vanilla, and eggs. Beat until well mixed, about 1 minute. Add flour mixture; mix until just combined

2.  Drop heaping tablespoon-size balls of dough about 2 inches apart on a greased cookie sheet.

3.  Bake until cookies are golden around the edges, but still soft in the center, 8 to 10 min.

 

16 Comments to “Thoughts from the Kitchen Sink…”

  1. Their is nothing as enjoyable as a good slumber party with the hubby.  How nice that your parents could come and see little Annabelle both for you and for them.  I hope you and your family have a wonderfully realxing week:)

  2. aren\’t those late-night and into the wee-wee-hours of the morning chats the best…they are moments to be savored!  we will have to try your chocolate chip cookie recipe sometime…however, in a few days i will be making my very favorite treat…homemade carmel-corn…this weekend is our annual lake-trip with two other couples who are our very closest of friends, and i can hardly wait…the carmel-corn is for the trip!

  3. The church I go to I just love because I get goosebumps almost every Sunday! It\’s a wonderful experience! I think if I had to say I loved something more than chocolate it would have to be cheesecake! I miss the pillow fights I used to have with hubby, we used to wrestle around all the time, but for the moment we have to be gentle! I pick on him all the time now and he can\’t do anything about it, he keeps telling me, just you wait until after Madison gets here! HEHE 🙂 I love the comment you left on my space, it about brought me to tears! I so wish you lived closer! And yes, we must be neighbors in heaven, I just couldn\’t have it any other way!

  4. Audrey Hepburn is one of my all time favorite actresses! I love Roman Holiday.  Rob and I built a house over the fall and winter.  We just moved in this May.  We took some time to do some fixing on the other house before we put it on the market (new carpet and some other things).  We are really happy with the new place and it is exactly what we wanted!  A cute country house  on a couple of acres a few miles out of town. Perfect for us.  A godly husband is truly a wonderful gift from the Lord!  How blessed we are! 

  5. Well, as you know I\’m pretty new around here but I already love reading your page.  I\’ve set it up on my homepage with RSS…is that obssesive?  Maybe but I totally get the love it here.  Anyway, I\’m glad to see that others "out there" in the world love family!  We\’ll be enjoying family next weekend (in-laws) and two weeks after that my parents will be visiting.  Lots of beaming and snoogling to be had by all I\’m sure.  So…anyway, keep up the great wring and inspirations!  Love love love it! 🙂

  6. Oh how fun that sounds! Slumber parties and pillow fights! I miss those a lot! I love it how my blessings bless you, and your blessings bless me! I\’m pretty sure that is how it works 🙂
    That little Annabelle of yours is just getting cuter all the time. Love those pics up there
    Happy Monday to you,
    Jacy

  7. WOW that must have been absolutely amazing 1000 people singing How great thou are ! I always get goose bumps at that song.
     
    I am always blown away by how much you and David love each other. Thank God for blessing you so. 🙂
    Hope you are having a great day.
     
    Ps your Daughter is so adorable.

  8. isn\’t God good to give us husbands who are also great friends? We love late-night giggles, whispering, pillow fights, tickling and cuddles. I am glad you were able to enjoy some of those moments.

  9. Isn\’t it wonderful to have grandparents who love their grandbabies? I\’m am so blessed to have them for our Olivia. She used to "beam" too when her Marmee and Papa were around. Now she just runs around the house squealing in delight. It sounds like you and David had a wonderful time Saturday night. Mike and I are so happy to have Olivia in her own bed now and we get to enjoy a lot more of those "special" moments. I agree with "wonder" wife, they are definitely moments to be cherished. I think our most meaningful moments of conversation have happened at those time. I can\’t wait to try your cookie recipe. I was sitting here tonight "talking" to you and dreaming of baking cookies but couldn\’t decide which kind and when I checked in here for the evening, you had this recipe. Must have been Divine. 🙂
    Love to you!
     

  10. Chelle…
     
    This entry makes me want to go downstairs and whomp Dean with a pillow…but he always wins and I have not enough fight in me tonight to make it worth his while!
     
    When I used to go to Church, I would get tears in my eyes singing How Great too, but it was On Eagle\’s Wings that always did me in.  It is  one of the things I do miss about attending Mass…
     
    Because your Snickerdoodles are such a hit (did I tell you I made them with half whole whet flour once and they were scrumptious) I may try this recipe too!
     
    Watching my Dad with my girls always flips my heart.  Also makes me grin when my sister says "I wish we had had a Dad like Calla\’s Papa!"  He sooooo can\’t say no to my girls.
     
    Take lovely care of you and yours…
     
    Alison

  11. Chelle-
    Your cookie recipe is almost indentical to mine…. and I love them. They are always thick and soft and chewy.  I will have to pull them side by side and see if there is a difference.
     
    LOVE late night chats, Nick and I did that last night, laughing and talking about who knows what, until you can\’t hold your eyelids open, especialy love the picking on each other…. of course I can dish it out but I can\’t take it.
     
    Cannnot wait to hear what your suprise was…. tell us when you can!
     
    http://www.leslieautumn.blogspot.com

  12. Hi Chelle!
     
    So much love in your family – I\’ve been coming here lately to become encouraged.  Did you know God would use you that way?:)  I completely understand about the amazement of so many people engaged in worship – I also love seeing God work in people at church through prayer ministry, etc.  You\’re also now my pillow fight hero!  Husband D. usually wins – also at every wrestling match we have, even though I\’m the one with the LEA training! 🙂  You have to share your secret with me.:)
     
    Many Blessings!  
     
    Lisa

  13. I love coming by here- you have a wonderful, loving spirit. The cookie recipe sounds yummy- maybe I\’ll make them for the boys this weekend. The zinnia is lovely- I have dahlias this year. Have blessed day!

  14. Sounds like a wonderful weekend.Wow a date ,that is a rare treat with a little one at home.Now you really got us intrigued about the surprise in the mail.Answered prayers,Hmmm leaves for alot of speculation.Love the pix .

  15. Sounds like a great weekend.  I love it when family is in town or when we visit family.  I get to go back to my hometown next weekend, I\’m so excited!

  16. Chelle,
     
    I have no idea how I come across your space other then it being God who brought me here.  You are an amazing writer with a heart for God and for her family.  Your husband sounds amazing and your baby Annabelle is beautiful.  Please cherish every moment with her.  She maybe only 6 months old now, but before you know it, she will be a senior and getting ready to spread her wings.  I know, as my oldest is a senior this year and it seems like just last year that he was six months old.  So many years of laughter and delight as we watch our children grow.  We only have them for a short time and we can only hope and pray that we raise them as God wants us too so that they can then do work for Him.  This will be an incredibly hard year for me to watch my oldest mature and get ready to leave home in just over a year.  (He has been accepted into MMI in Phoenix in September of next year.)  Time flies, cherish each and every moment.  Thank you for adding sunshine to my day. I love stopping by to see your space.

Leave a Reply

