something in the air?

 
 
 

I saw a tree this morning, covered with bright orange leaves. They must have turned color over-night. Did I forget to flip my calendar, or is it still only the middle of August? It brings to mind this quote that I love:

“ This was one of those perfect days in late summer where the spirit of autumn takes a first stealing flight, like a spy, through the ripening country-side, and, with feigned sympathy for those who droop with August heat, puts her cool cloak of bracing air about leaf and flower and human shoulders. “

~Sarah Orne Jewett

Our mornings have been chilly. The air, smelling deliciously like fall. The other day I wore my big cozy sweater until noon, and if that is not proof enough, we have not been able to sleep through the entire night with our windows open. Maybe that is because our bed is dressed for summer with cotton sheets and light coverlet. As much as I look forward to the changing of the seasons.I hesitate to let go of summer…

There is more splashing to be done in the back yard pool where

Annabelle has recently discovered her shadow. They have such a lot of fun together.

And Annabelle’s Mommy is still quite unwilling to part with days warm enough to let her little sun-kissed baby get away with only a diaper. She likes to be able to nuzzle and cuddle that soft, chubby, little body, on demand, and to her hearts content.

 There is more fresh salsa, corn on the cob and freshly squeezed lemonade, to serve out on our little back porch table.

More walks to take with the backdrop of a blazing purple/pink sunset.

More time to spend digging in the garden, admiring the roses, the zinnias and the dahlias, tugging at a weed or two.

More lazy Sunday afternoons to spend doing absolutely nothing.

Later on tonight, after we put Annabelle to bed, we will steal away to a favorite spot of ours …to enjoy a little bit of summer romance, and watch the mid-August moon come up

 
    
 
 
23 Comments to “something in the air?”

  1. We also like to squeeze every last drop out of summer that we can, for it is far too short in our neck of the woods.  How you had a wonderful weekend. Hugs:)

  2. A sweet entry.Hope you had fun in your secret spot,LOL I too hate to think of fall,actually I love the cool days and color of that season but the knowing we will soon be *ss deep in snow and below 0 temp\’s ,brr  I am making plans for fall planting,I hope the winter holds off a bit.LOL Next month is time to plant peonies and tulips,and I got a lot of holes to dig.

  3. i\’m back in the blogging and commenting business….yay!  i completely agree with your thoughts on wanting summer to linger a bit longer…summer\’s pleasures are so innocent and refreshing…and for elizabeth\’s mommy the fall will bring a first birthday for elizabeth…and i am just not sure i\’m ready to admit that my sweet baby is getting that big…although i suppose the fact that she is almost walking makes me face that truth!  savor today…hugs from elizabeth and i to you and annabelle…wish elizabeth and annabelle could be sitting in the same backyard pool splashing while their mommies enjoyed a sweaty glass of fresh-squeezed lemonade!

  4. apparently there are still a few cricks in my blogging-abilities…it won\’t leave my name or blog address…but its me…amanda (wonderwife)…on that last comment!

  5. Such a beautiful post Chelle, and after that said, I am not sure I am as ready to give up summer as I once thought I was. I do look forward to the colorful leaves and the cool chilled breezes that fall always has to offer, but how us mommy\’s will miss our sunbeaming babies and all that summer brings!
    I think it absolutely adorable to have a raccoon family in your backyard! I have to admit that if they were over in my wood, I would have to sneak them a few crumbs myself …heheheheh
    Lots of Love to you and enjoy the rest of your summer
    Love to you and Annabelle from me and Noah 🙂

  6. I too have seen a few fall orange leaves in my very own backyard! I am not ready for fall. I love fall but not the  L  O  N  G   winter that follows. if only snow was a better part of winter. not to be burried in it, but to have the white blanket for a few days now and then.

  7. Great post!  I have to admit, I am soooooo ready for Fall!!  I\’m not a big fan of summer or winter.  But Fall and Spring….love it!  I\’m looking forward so much to the cooler weather.  I hate it when you walk out of your house and the heat hits you like a brick wall.  Or in the winter the cold just takes your breath away.  Brrrrrr!!!  But, check in with me in about 4 or 5 months and I\’ll be begging for summer LOL
     
    God bless : )

  8. Oh, the joys of late summer! It\’s kind of exciting knowing that I\’m going to get to enjoy two Fall\’s this year, thanks to you. I can enjoy your\’s first through your writings and pictures in the next month or so and then I can enjoy mine in late October thru November. 🙂 Could we join you in that romantice getaway? Let\’s put the girl\’s to bed first and then the four of us can enjoy the sunset and rising moon.
    ❤ ❤

  9. That sounds wonderful! Here in Nebraska it is still summer, however it is a little cooler. I think it\’s in the 80\’s this week. I can\’t wait for a little cool weather to take some longer walks and kick the ball in the yard. 🙂 It sounds like you are really enjoying all the little things. Keep writing about them! Have a wonderful day!
     
    ~Crystal

  10. Chelle-
    Spaces is finally letting me comment.. This was a lovely post.Which yours normally are…. I love fall, but there is something about not being able to let go of summer.
    I still owe you photos… 🙂
    http://www.leslieautumn.blogspot.com

  11. I am laughing because you are the 2nd person I\’ve read today about the cool fall weather.  We are in Texas & it\’s  going to be 103.  I was 85 at 6 am this morning.  You must be far up north.
     
    Your daughter is stunning.
    Tam in Texas

  12. Oooooh – fall colors.  I need to live where you are.  There is something sweetly sentimental about lettting the last of summer go – and late summer/early fall seems to play with us just a little – the vascillation between warm and cool.  Yes.  Enjoy the time with the naked baby while it\’s here (but I\’m sure bundling her in big, comfy baby sweaters must also be somewhat sweet as well …)  Blessings!   – Lisa

  13. Fall is my favorite time of year. I love all those colors! To bad where I live fall dosen\’t show up until late in the year.

  14. Hey there….things okay in you little house? 
     
    (((hugs)))

  15. I could really learn alot from you. You are so able to take the best of every day no matter whay and see the beauty in every situation. How\’d you get so wise in so little time? If you have visited lately, you know that we have had one horrible thing after another and at this very moment, it is sometimes hard to see the beauty in things. I just have to give it all over to him that can bear all these burdens and lighten my heart and take it one day at a time.
     
    Minta visited my space recently, she is a peach (as we say in the south). Runs in the family?
     
    Hugs & Blessings,
    Laura

  16. Beautiful post as always. I miss fall! The leaves don\’t change where we live now. When we did live up north, I loved fall for the crisp air, flag football, apple picking, capture the flag games, diving in the leaves, my favorite sweatshirt, and a good cup of apple cider on a cool night. Thanks for the reminder.

  17. Just wondering how you and Annabelle are doing, hope your day is wonderful!

  18. I am doing the Autumn happy dance.  Never am I more myself than in autumn.  I love the chilly nose that comes on mornings when we have slept all night with the window open.  I love the blue clouds in the sky.  I love the crispness of the sunlight on my fading garden.  I love wool sweaters and bare toes.  I love the turning leaves and the bronze quality of the light…
     
    Why am I not surprised that you dress your bed in summer dresses too??  I have winter sheets and summer sheets.  Winter down comforters and summer quilts (ironically enough, the summer quilt is a log cabin quilt that was hand quilted by Dean\’s grandmother.  It is browns and reds and yellows and oranges and does not match my walls painted in that plummy-chocolate colour and yet it is perfect in our room…) 
     
    I will be sad to see summer go too, but it is ok because I am welcoming my dear frend autumn and soon after my thrilling friend winter.  It is all….good.
     
    Alison
     
    p.s.  Verbena and Lemon is my favourite treat from Bath and Bodyworks.  And my mother had a wee travel into the States and picked some up for me as a surprise.  Next time you are in a store, wander over and have a sniff…yummmmmm.

Leave a Reply

