More spring sightings…

 The first day of spring is one thing, and the first spring day is another. The difference between them is sometimes as great as a month.
Fisherman’s Luck , Henry Van Dyke (1899)

 

  • Yesterday Annabelle learned the meaning of soft…while we were playing with a branch off our pussy willow tree.
  • We counted 31 robins in our backyard yesterday. And Annabelle is "tweet-tweeting" all over the house.

 

  • I found a small bunch of crocuses, faces peeking up timidly from the ground.

 

  • The miniature daffodils I planted in pots last Nov. and then relegated to the darkest, coldest corner of the garage are just now unfurling their sunny yellow splendor. 

 

  • It may be premature, with snow in the forecast for tonight but we will not let that keep us from at least pretending that we are already quite under the enchanting the spell of spring.

14 Comments to “More spring sightings…”

  1. Oh how exciting!! I am very much anticipating the new green buds to pop up! I loved your spring display and how adorable is that nest! Were those real eggs?
    Hope you have a very pleasent Wednesday tomorrow! My love and blessings to you and your dearest Annabelle from me and little Noah! He sends many kisses to her 🙂
     
    Hugs
    jacy

  2. That quote is SO true.  For the last two mornings I have HEARD Spring outside.  I know it\’s just around the corner now.  I almost had forgotten what that sounded like.  Have a great day!God bless 🙂

  3. We live in Northern Oregon on a bluff overlooking the Columbia River, and our winters are very WET, so on the day after winter solstice I start telling everyone with ears that "SPRING IS COMEING"!  Last week we had wild, but lovely weather and today we woke up to snow, but the daffodil, the tulips and our iris are all up and the leaves on our lilac hedge are starting to unfurl. 
     
    Annabelle Lucy is as precious as they come, and from what I\’ve seen here today, she\’s a very lucky little girl to have the parents she does.  May the Lord continue to bless you all.

  4. Oh isn\’t it just delightful to watch for the signs of Spring.  We still have traces of snow in our yard…and it is a bit too chilly to do much exploring outside…but I know it is just around the corner!  We have snow in the forecast for tomorrow…so I think winter is hanging on a bit!  I can\’t wait until this spring…watching Elizabeth soak in all its wonders and magic…

  5. We are toying with the idea of spring around here; I\’m afraid to get my hopes up, weather being what it is…fickle!
    I have tulips, daffodils, & hyachiths blooming, and Chris just planted lettuce & carrots in the ground.

  6. I\’m right there with you, just waiting for Spring.  Today it was warm enough for me to walk to the car without a coat on…okay, not really, but darn near.  I need Spring!
     
    Take care,
    Amy

  7. I always get so misty eyed when I visit your space! Everything is always so lovely. I hope it has stopped snowing and that you three can go visiting with nature again.
     
    Hugs to you
    Wahzat!!

  8. I always get so misty eyed when I visit your space! Everything is always so lovely. I hope it has stopped snowing and that you three can go visiting with nature again.
     
    Hugs to you
    Wahzat!!

  9. Wow, your space really feels like Spring! I also am excited and can\’t wait. The dogwood trees have all started to bloom here and it is so pretty. I need to try and get some nice Spring pictures, but I\’m not so great at it. I try, but sometimes I mess up and get some good shots! LOL. Hope you are doing well. I am fighting the boredom of same ole same ole already and keep praying that God will finally push me toward my next adventure and show me where and what I am supposed to be doing now. I have felt so strangely lost and out of place lately. I guess extreme change after such a long time will so that to you.
     
    Take care XXOO!
    Laura

  10. Love you! Love you! Love you! Love you! Love you! 🙂
    xoxoxo
    Fairlight

  11. These birthday pics of Annabelle are simply precious!  What a beautiful little party girl…and it looks like a delightful time was had by all!

  12. These birthday pics of Annabelle are simply precious!  What a beautiful little party girl…and it looks like a delightful time was had by all!

  13. I love the birthday pics! Where did you get that beautiful Happy Birthday banner? I love it!

  14. we have lots of new growth around here too but snow is forecast in the next few days so it may all get a bashing !
    some of my miniature daffs were growing away in a trough  unoticed beneath a bench & when I got them out they were fully grown & beautiful but \’leggy\’  ..nice surprise though as they had been there since last year & still managed to survive
    nature is amazing …God is good !
    *blessings*
    sandra

Leave a Reply

