from Scratch…

Lately I have gotten into the habit of using my bisques mix when whipping up a batch of waffles, usually to save on time, either because have slept waaaaay and I have to hurry and get breakfast on the table before it’s lunchtime, or we are about to be late to church. Last Sat. morning convinced me that the extra 5 minutes it takes to make waffles from scratch is more than worth it. Instead of the usual gulping down of the dry/ bland bisquickies with a glass of milk and half a bottle of syrup…the waffles were moist and tasted good even without butter and syrup. Fresh strawberries and whip cream didn’t seem to hurth though. David and I just couldn’t stop " mmmm-ing " over them. . In fact I was impressed enough that I haven’t forgotten (and it’s Thursday) how much I want share this recipe with you:

Waffles From Scratch-
(from The Taste of Home Cookbook)                 

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 cup milk
1/4 cup butter, melted

1) In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and salt. Combine egg yolks, milk and butter; stir into dry ingredients just until moistened.

2) In a small mixing bowl, beat egg whites on medium speed until soft peaks form; gently fold into batter

3) Bake in a preheated waffle iron according to manufacturer’s directions until golden brown. Top with confectioners’ sugar and fruit or serve with syrup.

Yield: 4 waffles(about 6 inches)

11 Comments to “from Scratch…”

  1. my BOYS are big waffle makers. (14 and 16 years old.) i should MAKE them try this.

  2. oh that looked so good…
    :o) smiles are free and contagious…so pass one right now to the people you love and those you don\’t…soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

  3. Holy moly…that looks great. I CANNOT believe that you get up and cook every morning.  WOWEEE!!  I don\’t EVER cook, much less breakfast, besides, they feed us breakfast at school in the classrooms and there is always one left for me.  So, in my district, parents don\’t have to cook.
     
    g.j.

  4. Hello!  Those waffles look delish!  Our big weekend tradition is pancakes.  I make them with yogurt so they are wonderfully light and fluffy.  We often do syrup, but occasionally we have them with strawberries, sour cream and brown sugar on top.  The sweet and tart of the combination is tasty.  And I love your inspiration friday!  Big Hug!

  5. I love waffles and those look positively delicous! Will try! Also, Annabelle looks so adorable. She is really gorgeous as well as yourself. What a beautiful family you have Chelle
    love and blessings to you

  6. Mmmm, mmmm, makes me wish I had a waffle iron!
     
    Annabelle is just getting cuter and cuter!
     
    Take care,
    Amy

  7.  hi,thanks for your comment in my space.Are you in Seattle?  i\’m an English teacher in shanghai.(and i\’m going to NYC for a short study tour in July )
    what do you do? are you busy?
    what\’s your e-mail on msn,do you chat on msn?we can exchange ideas about children\’s education, which is different in the States and china.

  8. Missing you! Think we can connect before I leave for the weekend?
    Much love,
    Fairlight

  9. every time i check to see if there is something new here….i get a craving for waffles.

  10. They look scrumptious and it\’s making my mouth water just thinking about it. I copied your recipe and thank you for sharing. I am always looking for new recipes to try when I go back out on the river. I have to aggree that the bisquick recipe leaves alot to be desired when it comes to waffles.
    Hope you have a great day. God bless you and your precious family.~HUGS~Marilyn~

  11. they look absolutely delicious. I don\’t have a waffle iron, but looks like now i am going to have to get one now that i have your recipe and the yummy image of delicious waffles on my mind!
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

