{ A Time to Love. }

Have you ever had something to say, something so deep and so close to your heart that it felt almost too personal to talk about,
 as if reducing those thoughts and feelings into words would cheapen it somehow.
This post is my attempt to put words to something that I feel goes painfully far beyond actual description. Perhaps  you know what I mean.
 
" For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted; a time to kill, and a time to heal;a time to break down, and a time to build up; a time to weep, and a time to laugh;a time to mourn, and a time to dance; a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing; a time to seek, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away; a time to tear, and a time to sew;a time to keep silence, and a time to speak; a time to love, and a time to hate; a time for war, and a time for peace." Ecc 3:1-8
There is no easy way to say this but am going to go ahead and try. After twelve plus years of battling ALS, my father-in-law, who I love so dearly has now reached the final stages of the disease. In the last three weeks we have made four trips to Id. to be with our family. And spent precious time with "Papa Bob" and all the rest of our wonderful family. In the past few weeks we have seen what David loves to refer to as, " the biggest miracle of his life. " As God has healed hearts and hurts. As forgiveness has been asked and given. There has been a time to build up, after years of painful distance between David’s Dad and his older children, after a time of "tearing down," caused by the blindness that affects someone, infected with bitterness. David has 10 siblings so, you can imagine the magnitude of that. In the past few weeks his Dad has been saying the things that he and his brothers and sisters have for years, longed to hear. Endless words of love, affirmation, and praise. It brings tears to my eyes to remember the simple, heartfelt words he whispered into my ear last weekend, "three treasures." Making sure I knew how precious David, Annabelle and i are to him. The transformation has been so beautiful to witness. God has been so glorified. And we are all living in the light of answered prayers. It gives us such real hope, even in the midst of the deep sadness we know losing him will bring. Our loss. His gain. We will miss him so terribly, but are comforted knowing that he is soon to be safe in Jesus arms.
The happiest, best place any of us could ever be.
-Precious Moments-
Annabelle and David with Papa

 

5 Comments to “{ A Time to Love. }”

  1. Beautiful, poignant and a great tribute to forgiveness and love. Thank you so much for sharing this moment with us. My prayers are with you and your family to give you strength to deal with the grief that will come.
     
    Hugs to you my friend

  2. God\’s grace and mercy are indescribable…yet, it is good to try. our telling of God\’s grace and mercy give strength and hope to those we have in our lives, and to those that are looking at our lives from afar. it\’s God honoring and precious.
     
    thank you for sharing preciousness. 

  3. My darling sister,
    how very odd that the night he died happens to be the day you had decided to open and share with everyone. Feelings that  are so very hard to express, come out so beautifully when you write them. Thank you for your  wonderful explanation of the wonderful things that had happened in our lives. We love you beyond words, dearest sister. I am so utterly thankful that both David and you got the needed affirmation, I know it has made an amazing difference in so many.
    LOVE YOU EACH dearest sister!
    (Man am I lucky that David and Peter are brothers and I was blessed in the mix with a wonderful sister, YOU!)
     

  4. You are in my prayers for you, your family and him.  Bless You!

  5.  Chelle (and of course Bruzer),
     
    I was thinking of Uncle Bob tonight and I was telling Carrie about him.  She told me to go check your website… (I didn\’t know it existed… but it\’s under her favorites), so I did and I saw this picture of David and Annabelle and him.  Do you have any other pictures of my old friend that you could ship over to me.  I didn\’t get a chance to see him in the past two years, but I talked to him often.  You know when you hear someones name, alive or gone, you always have a picture that comes to mind of that person… I always remember that smile of his…
     
    James

Leave a Reply

