{ cozy little day }

{ card from my Esty Shop }
 
 
We’ve been having oatmeal for breakfast the past few mornings. It seems like a fitting way to start off the day with something warm in our tummies. The weather has gone from bright and warm to blustery and grey. I’ve been making a fire first thing in the morning and we’ve been bundeling up to go outside, wearing scarves and closed-toes shoes and I’ve started putting tights and turtlenecks on Annabelle. It’s a good thing I love fall as much as I do, otherwise I could not bring myelf to trade in my beloved flip flops for a pair of warm socks and some comfy boots. Anyhow speaking of flip flops, now I am about to go on a rabbit trail. My sweet Mommy in law told me the other day that when she was a girl "flip flops" were called zorries. Is that cute or what?
They introduced a new song at church today, and even the words of the first line couldn’t stop our tears. Funny how grief hits you when and where you least expect it to.
When I go don’t cry for me
In my fathers arms I’ll be
The wounds this world left on my soul
Will all be healed and I’ll be whole
Sun and moon will be replaced
With the light of Jesus’ face
And I will not be ashamed
For my savior knows my name

It don’t matter where you bury me
I’ll be home and I’ll be free
It don’t matter where I lay
All my tears be washed away

Gold and silver blind the eye
Temporary riches lie
Come and eat from heaven’s store
Come and drink and thirst no more
So weep not for me my friend
When my time below does end
For my life belongs to him
Who will raise the dead again
It don’t matter where you bury me
I’ll be home and I’ll be free
It don’t matter where I lay
All my tears be washed away

Also at church, Annabelle was *winking* at the people in the row behind us. Really truly winking. I have no idea where she learned to wink. I certainly have never tried teaching her how to do it but it was hysterical.

Later on that afternoon David spontainiously sat down at the piano with me and we plunked out the notes to ‘Heart and Soul’ together. It made me feel like a girl again. We sat there and giggled and expeirmented and then of course we would mess up, which would made us giggle some more!"

And we all snuggled up and watched Chip and Dale cartoons.

And we had the yummiest sushi for dinner { gotta love Costco }. And it cracked us up because Annabelle loved it. Especially since we know several adults who won’t even try it.

And that is what I mean when I say, we had "a cozy little day."

10 Comments to “{ cozy little day }”

  1. Oh what a cozy day………………………..
    I miss you dearest sister, and seems to be all I can say.
     

  2. Sounds like a perfect day 😉  The lady bug boots are adorable!  We don\’t get enough rain here to justify buying rain boots but those would be my top choice for my Sophie hehe…
    Playing the piano with your hubby was so cute!! 🙂

  3. What a splendid way to spend an afternoon 🙂
    We aren\’t quite to tights & turtleneck yet, but socks & a sweater feels good in the morning (along with Scottish oatmeal, butter, apples, & pecans- yum)

  4. Oh your day sounds perfect my friend. Of course I am so happy that I don\’t ever have to give up my flip flops teehee.I meant to tell you I am sorry for your loss. It was really great that your entire family got to spend quality time with him before his passing. Give praises for that. I can see why that gorgeous hymn would evoke tears.hugs to you and sweet Annabelle and I hope that you three will have a great weekend, which I am sure you will because you three always ensure to enjoy yourselves just being 🙂

  5. It sounds like you are having some lovely fall days.  I got an email from one of my Seattlite friends and he too was saying that fall has definitely come to that area.  Not so here, it was, I think, like 90 degrees here today.  What the heck?  It\’s usually sweater weather, or at least jean weather by this time.  Certainly not tank tops and shorts.  Crazy.  I heard it\’s supposed to start being in the 60\’s by Wednesday though.  Very odd weather indeed!
     
    Oh, those pictures of Annabelle in her ladybug shoes are too cute!  Love it!
     
    Have a great day and enjoy the snuggling!
     
    Amy

  6. Hi Chelle!  So good to see a post and to get caught up with you.  And I love the new pictures of sweet Annabelle.  Your post made me wish for fall even more.  We have been in the 90s the past several days and I am longing to pull out the sweaters, gloves, and scarves.  However, on the way to my sweet little job this morning I did notice more color in the trees and so many corn fields had been harvested over the weekend, one sure sign of fall around here.  The land is beginning to have the wide open look to it that is one of the aspects of winter, but it also now feels like there is a lot more sky to see and be enveloped in.  Anyway, I hope that you are having a wonderful day and stop by sometime when you can and let me know what\’s new.  I would also like to talk to you about All things Domestic…I finally feel like I have the time to be a contributor if that is still a possibility…let me know.
    Hugs,
    Sarah  🙂

  7. It must be soo nice to have fall weather…I have been waiting and wondering when Kentucky will get rid of the 80 degree weather. I hear we are in store for the 60s this week 😀 (fingers crossed) Annabelle is so adorable in your new pictures, as always…she is getting so grown up
    And what a wonderful hymn that was…tears are definitely appropriate
    lots of love to you dear chelle and your family from ours
    Jacy

  8. That is a beautiful song…thank you for sharing it.
    As for your cozy little day…it sounds splendid as well.
    this time of year i become nostalgic for changing leaves and fireplaces,
    it just does not get cool enough down here.
    ah well.
    i am grateful for the 5 degree change in temperature that we have had.
    keep enjoying each day…
    They are all days the Lord has made and blessed us with.
    Have a wonderful weekend.

  9. hi i really like your family pictures and the way to think about the cheerfulness, hope you and your family be ok.  many hugs from panama, gaby.

  10. hi i really like your family pictures and the way to think about the cheerfulness, hope you and your family be ok.  many hugs from panama, gaby.

Leave a Reply

